Diabolik Lovers

  • Genre: Drama, Harem, Mystery, Horror, Romance
  • Season: 1
  • Episodes: 13

Plot

6792970dea24081392ab45d083fc10791443978202_full.jpgYui Komori is a normal teenage girl. She is forced to move to a new town. She arrives alone at a mansion on a rainy night. Upon arrival no one answers her knock and as she reaches for the door again it mysteriously opens by itself. Upon entering the mansion she finds a boy, Ayato sleeping on a couch. When she looks closer she discovers he has no pulse. Panicking Yui attempts to call an ambulance when the boy takes her phone. Gradually she is surrounded by more guys as they try to figure out why she is there. Yui discovers that the six of them, Shuu, Reiji, Ayato, Kanato, Laito, and Subaru are brothers and that they are vampires. It is quickly revealed that she is the ‘sacrificial bride’. Will Yui be able to figure out why she was sent to live with the brothers while trying to work her way around their sadistic personalities and desire for her blood? Will she figure out why her heart hurts and who the strange woman that she sees is? Is she really a sacrifice offered up, was she really betrayed by her father?

My Thoughts:

I tried so hard to like this. So much so that I watched season one in a single sitting. The vampires are vampires which is partially why I stuck with this. They enjoy tormenting Yui while treating her as their personal snack. The show had potential but they kind of failed on delivery. There was not much character development and I don’t see why Yui cared for the brothers, unless it was *Stockholm’s syndrome. The same for the brothers, I didn’t really see why they cared for her so much that they changed from being her ‘captors’ to her saviors. I can see the potential for their relationships to deepen and develop over time and through interaction which didn’t happen in the show. It seemed as if every interaction with the brothers that Yui had ended with her begging them to stop. Honestly I liked the brothers and the vastly different personalities and enjoyed watching the way they toyed with Yui (I am strange I know).  The mystery was interesting and I enjoyed watching as the reason she was there was explained but even that seemed rushed and a lot was just glossed over and other parts were not explained at all. I suppose I will watch season two and see if any of the unanswered questions are answered there.

Have you watched Diabolik Lovers? Will you watch it? I would love to know your thoughts in the comments below!

large.jpg
*feelings of trust or affection felt in many cases of kidnapping or hostage-taking by a victim towards a captor.
3 thoughts on “Diabolik Lovers

I wanna know what you are thinking! Tell me here...

